Screenwriters Lab

The Hamptons International Film Festival’s Screenwriters Lab is an intimate gathering in East Hampton, New York. The Lab develops emerging screenwriting talent by pairing established writers and creative producers with up-and-coming screenwriters (chosen by HIFF in collaboration with key industry contacts).

Note: Submissions for the 2016 Screenwriters Lab will open in mid-November. Stay tuned for details.

2015 mentors included the Oscar®-winning co-writer of BirdmanAlexander Dinalaris, Jr., and Nicole Perlman, co-writer of the blockbuster hit Guardians of the Galaxy, among others.

Read all about the 2015 mentors and selected screenplays here.
An enthusiastic Alexander Dinelaris (center) breaks down Jared Goodman's screenplay European Zero with Nicole Perlman (left).

An enthusiastic Alexander Dinelaris (center) breaks down Jared Goodman’s screenplay European Zero with Nicole Perlman.

Each year, we seek a broad selection of screenplays addressing a wide subject matter. The mentors advise in a one-on-one creative laboratory setting, while additional events bring the participants together with board members, sponsors, the local artistic community, and other friends of the festival. With scripts from past writers produced year after year, the Lab continues to be a safe and inspiring place for artists to find and hone their creative vision.

In the last few years, four projects from the Lab have gone on to be produced:  Daniel Cretton’s Short Term 12, which won both the Audience and Grand Jury Prize at the 2013 South by Southwest Film Festival; Justin Schwartz’s The Discoverers, starring Griffin Dunne, which had its world premiere at HIFF and was released in 2014; Sara Colangelo’s Little Accidents, starring Elizabeth Banks, which premiered at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival and was released earlier this year; and Claudia Myers’s Fort Bliss, which starred Michelle Monaghan and was released in 2014.

Previous Screenwriters Lab mentors include Alexander Dinelaris, Academy Award® winning screenwriter of Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance); Nicole Perlman, co-writer of 2014’s Academy Award-nominated hit Guardians of the Galaxy; Oren Moverman (The Messenger, Academy Award nominee), Michael Cunningham (The Hours, Evening); Robert Siegel (The Wrestler), James Vanderbilt (Zodiac); Mark Heyman (Black Swan); Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck (Half Nelson, Sugar);  Whit Stillman (Metropolitan, The Last Days of Disco); Ira Sachs (40 Shades of Blue, Love is Strange); Hawk Ostby (Children Of Men, Iron Man), Jeff Sharp, producer (You Can Count on Me, Evening); Billy Frolick (Madagascar); Andy Bienen (Boys Don’t Cry); Lisa Muskat (George Washington, Prince Avalanche); Sophia Lin, producer (Take Shelter, Compliance); Lawrence Lasker (Sneakers, War Games); and Dylan Kidd (Roger Dodger, P.S.).

HIFF 2015 Screenwriters Lab

Pictured left to right: Anne Chaisson, Alexander Dinelaris, Stuart Suna, Juna Skenderi, Kendell Klein, Evan Hayes, Isold Uggadóttir, David Nugent, Helen Schulman, Doron Weber, Nicole Perlman, Jared Goodman, Philip Aceto