Breakthrough Artists

HIFF 2023 Breakthrough Artist Celine Song

Each year, the Hamptons International Film Festival recognizes a new class of Breakthrough Artists, celebrating these up-and-coming stars with uncommonly bright futures.

HIFF was proud to honor Celine Song—Academy Award®-nominated director/screenwriter of Best Picture nominee PAST LIVES—as the 2023 Breakthrough Artist.

Past honorees include many future Oscar® winners and nominees, including Jessica Chastain, Taraji P. Henson, Lupita Nyong’o, Adam Driver, Brie Larson, Timothée Chalamet, Riz Ahmed, and more.

Additional actors who have received this honor include Oscar Isaac, Alexander Skarsgård, David Oyelowo, Miles Teller, Jack O’Connell, Tatiana Maslany, Emily Blunt, and Rooney Mara.