HIFF25 Lifetime Achievement Award: Julie Andrews

Julie Andrews invite revised

The 25th Anniversary Hamptons International Film Festival honors Oscar®-winning stage and screen legend Julie Andrews with a Lifetime Achievement Award on October 7, 2017.

Well known for her defining roles on stage in My Fair Lady and Camelot, and her classic screen performances in MARY POPPINS and THE SOUND OF MUSIC, the multitalented and award winning actress is a Kennedy Center Honoree (2001), a Disney Legend inductee and the recipient of the SAG Lifetime Achievement Award. She is a best-selling author of over 30 children’s books as well as the first installment of her autobiography, Home: A Memoir of My Early Years (2008), and is now working on the companion sequel. Ms. Andrews just completed directing a hugely successful revival of My Fair Lady, which is currently touring though Australia, and is the co-creator and star of Julie’s Greenroom, a newly released series on Netflix that teaches young children about the theater and the arts.

AMPAS logo new 100HIFF and The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will co-present a special screening of VICTOR VICTORIA on Saturday, October 7, at Guild Hall. The film, which stars Ms. Andrews, won the Oscar® for Original Song Score and Its Adaptation -or- Adaptation Score.

Ms. Andrews will participate in a post-screening conversation with HIFF Co-Chairman Alec Baldwin, who will present the Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Julie Andrews is a true icon and captured the hearts and imaginations of children and adults alike the moment she first appeared on screen in MARY POPPINS,” said Alec Baldwin. “Since then she has never ceased to amaze and stands as a true role model and inspiration. We are proud to honor her at the festival and celebrate her incredible career.”


Past recipients of this award have included Vanessa Redgrave, Stanley Tucci, Ted Hope, James Schamus, Robert Altman, Gena Rowlands, Richard Gere, Matthew Broderick, Ellen Burstyn, Joel Schumacher, Alec Baldwin, Ann Roth, Sharon Stone, Bob BalabanJames Coburn, and Edward Norton.